< < >

2006 | Darfur (Abuja) Peace Agreement

The Darfur Peace Agreement (DPA) was signed in Abuja by the Government of Sudan and Darfur-based rebel groups on the 5th of May, 2006, with the intention of ending the Darfur conflict. According to the document such principles as the rule of law, independence of the judiciary, and respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms had to underpin the peace process in the region (see Article 1(6-7)). Article 3 provides for the protection of fundamental rights and freedoms, which include the rights to safety and security, fair trial, and non-discrimination (Article 3(24-27)). Derogation from all the listed rights is prohibited unless provided for in the Constitution (Article 3(41)).

In addition, the DPA envisages the possibility for war-affected persons in Darfur to obtain redress for grievances suffered. Redress must be available in various forms. For the purpose of dealing with compensation issues the DPA mandates the establishment of a special Compensation Commission. All the reparation procedures should be simple, accessible, transparent and enforceable (Paragraphs 195-207).

Finally, the Agreement elaborates on the comprehensive ceasefire plan which prohibits any forms of gender-based violence (Paragraph 226(e)). It also requires the Government of Sudan to investigate and prosecute all perpetrators of the crimes committed against women. For this purpose, separate police counters staffed with women police personnel should be formed (Paragraph 275-279).